Thanks, for the clear explanation John B. Payne –

Off the Top o' My Head

Collection agencies like AscensionPoint Recovery Services and Expert Global Solutions and their nefarious smaller cousins are still pursuing the families of the deceased. A reader posted the following query on the post, “Deceased Estate Collection Services,” on March 9, 2016:

I’m a little late to the party, but I also have received a letter from Ascension Point regarding a credit card that my mother had before her death. They do list a creditor and an amount – however, after speaking with the original creditor, they informed me that the debt was cleared due to her passing. She has very minimal estate and everything is split equally between my brother and I. They have recently begun sending certified letters to my home (of which I was not home to receive so they were sent back). Am I obligated to pay these idiots? What steps should I take?

The first…

View original post 234 more words

